The Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour (ASAB) is an academic society

What we do

  • We own Animal Behaviour, the leading international scientific journal in its field.
  • We promote the study of animal behaviour by holding conferences and funding research.
  • We care about animals and our Ethical Committee promotes the ethical treatment and conservation of animals.
  • We encourage the teaching of animal behaviour in schools through our Education Committee.

The ASAB Handbook

We are writing an ASAB Handbook which will include more information about our policies and how the society functions. When it is ready, you will be able to download the handbook here.

The ASAB Council

President: Prof Pat Monaghan - Pat.Monaghan@glasgow.ac.uk
Secretary: Dr David Shuker - dms14@st-andrews.ac.uk
Executive Editor: Dr Sue Healy - susan.healy@st-andrews.ac.uk
Membership Secretary: Dr Anna Wilkinson - asabmembership@lincoln.ac.uk
Treasurer: Prof Matthew Gage - m.gage@uea.ac.uk
Web, Newsletter & Social Media Editor: Dr Hannah Rowland - asabwebeditor@gmail.com
Secretary of the Accreditation Committee: Dr Emily Blackwell - emily.blackwell@bristol.ac.uk
Secretary of the Education Committee: Dr Rupert Marshall - rmm@aber.ac.uk
Secretary of the Ethics Committee: Dr Dómhnall Jennings - domhnall.jennings@ncl.ac.uk
European Secretary: Prof Leonida Fusani - leofusani@gmail.com
Secretary of the Grants & Awards Committee: Prof Melissa Bateson - melissa.bateson@ncl.ac.uk
Secretary of the Media & Policy Committee: Dr Andy Russell - A.Russell@exeter.ac.uk

Ordinary Members of the council

Theresa Burt de Perera - theresa.burt@zoo.ox.ac.uk
Peter Kappeler - pkappel@gwdg.de
Kate Lessells - k.lessells@nioo.knaw.nl
Elva Robinson - elva.robinson@york.ac.uk
John Skelhorn - john.skelhorn@ncl.ac.uk

Committees

Accreditation Committee
Education Committee
Ethics Committee
Grants & Awards Committee
Media & Policy Committee

Committee for European Societies of Behavioural Biology (CESBB)